Éilis Dillon,  Chairperson

Éilis is Principal of St. Cecilia’s School, Sligo since 2004 and has been a member of NABMSE Central Executive since 2005. She was previously a Teaching Principal in a Mainstream school for eleven years and a primary school teacher in a variety of classes.

Éilis has over fourteen years’ experience in facilitation and presentation within the education sector having been seconded to School Development Planning and the Special Education Support Service (SESS). She has been a member of Sligo Education Management Committee, Chairperson District 4 INTO and continues to work as a guest lecturer on the SNA Certificate Course with St. Angela’s College, Lough Gill, Sligo.

Paddy Greally

Paddy was Children’s Services Manager for Co Galway with the Brothers of Charity Services prior to his retirement. He worked in the development of educational services for preschool children and children with severe to profound intellectual disability over a twenty year period prior to the involvement of DES provision for this cohort of children. He was subsequently involved in the development of special school education in Co Galway and was Chairman of the Board of Management of Rosedale Special School in Galway City for fourteen years.

Paddy has been involved in a number of roles in the educational sector such as Schools Liaison Officer with a Social Services Department in the UK and with the Western Health Board in the development of community preschool services. He is currently a member of the Board of Management of Rosedale Special School and was nominated to the Executive Committee of NABMSE in 2012.

Patricia Harrington 

Patricia is a member of the NABMSE Central Executive since January 2010. She is the Principal of the School of the Divine Child in Ballintemple, Cork since 2001. From 1996 to 2001, Patricia was seconded to Cork Institute of Technology as Arts Officer. She is a founder member of Cork Lifelong Learning Festival and a member of Cork City Learning Forum. She is also an Associate of the Special Education Support Service. Patricia is the IPPN representative on the Cork Music Partnership. Patricia was previously Vice Chairperson of NABMSE.

Sr. Marie Carroll

Marie has been a member of NABMSE Central Executive for many years and was Chairperson for 9 years. She is the Patron’s Nominee and Chairperson of St. Patrick’s School, Kilkenny. She is current director of the RSC Education Office and is also Chairperson of the Board of Management of a secondary and primary school. She has been class teacher in a mainstream school and a teacher and principal of schools for children with mild and moderate learning disabilities. Marie is a member of  the Board of the Association of Trustees of Catholic Schools.

Denise Cole

Denise is the Principal of Offaly School of Special Education since 2000 and was nominated to the NABMSE Executive in 2011. After qualifying with a B.A. in 1981 and a H. Dip in Ed in 1982, she subsequently worked in Paris as an interpreter for the Civil Aviation Authority.  Denise gained her Primary teaching qualification in the UK and taught English and French at Primary and Post Primary Level there for 10 years.

On return to Ireland Denise gained experience as a special teacher for travellers prior to moving into special education as an outreach teacher based in St. Mary’s Delvin.

Caroline Quinn

Caroline is Principal, Our Lady of Good Counsel GNS, Johnstown, Dun Laoghaire a  mainstream school with an Autism Unit. Caroline was nominated to the NABMSE Committee in  2015.

Andrea Hughes 

Andrea is a teacher in the Holy Family School, Cootehill, Cavan and was co-opted to the NABMSE Committee in 2015. Andrea was subsequently nominated to the Committee at the 2016 AGM. Andrea is an associate with Junior Cycle for Teachers team working on school training for the Junior Cycle Level Two.

Elaine Benson Ryan

Elaine is Principal of Red Hill School, Limerick since 2014, having previously taught there for a number of years. Red Hill School is an Autism Specific Special School.  Elaine was previously a Resource Teacher in Mainstream schools for 6 years and a primary school teacher in a variety of classes.

Elaine has experience in facilitation and presentation within the education sector having been seconded to the Special Education Support Service (SESS).

Cathy Cawley

Cathy is Principal of a Special School in Dublin. She has extensive experience in working with a range of children and young people with special educational needs. Her main specialisms are in the areas of autism, communication approaches to support children who are non-verbal and mental health. Cathy holds a Master’s Degree in Educational Management with Specialism in Special Needs.

Maria Corredor

Maria is the Principal teacher of Stepping Stones Special School for children with Autism and complex needs in Co Meath. She has been a Principal for 7 years. She was previously a Principal of a Special School and a Special Education Teacher in a variety of classes. Maria has worked in the field of Special Education for over twenty years in three different countries. She was appointed as a member of NAMBSE Executive Committee in November 2017.

Maria is currently working as an Associate for the NCSE/SESS in the Autism Primary Team and she is also a Mentor to other newly appointed Principals under the auspices of the Centre for School Leadership.

Grace Sheehan

Grace Sheehan is Principal of St. Ita’s and St. Joseph’s Special School, Kerry, since 2009. She worked previously as an advisor and co-ordinator for the Professional Development Service for Teachers and has worked in a variety of school settings including Gaelscoileanna. She has designed and presented summer courses for teachers on all aspects of special education.

Grace has recently qualified as a work and organisational psychologist and completed her research on the occupational health and well-being of primary school principals in Ireland. She has completed a variety of courses in education, psychology and management and is currently completing a Diploma in Education Law.