Éilis Dillon,  Chairperson

Éilis is Principal of St. Cecilia’s School, Sligo since 2004 and has been a member of NABMSE Central Executive since 2005. She was previously a Teaching Principal in a Mainstream school for eleven years and a primary school teacher in a variety of classes.

Éilis has over fourteen years’ experience in facilitation and presentation within the education sector having been seconded to School Development Planning and the Special Education Support Service (SESS). She has been a member of Sligo Education Management Committee, Chairperson District 4 INTO and continues to work as a guest lecturer on the SNA Certificate Course with St. Angela’s College Lough Gill, Sligo.

Paddy Greally

Paddy was Children’s Services Manager for Co Galway with the Brothers of Charity Services prior to his retirement. He worked in the development of educational services for preschool children and children with severe to profound intellectual disability over a twenty year period prior to the involvement of DES provision for this cohort of children. He was subsequently involved in the development of special school education in Co Galway and was Chairman of the Board of Management of Rosedale Special School in Galway City for fourteen years.

Paddy has been involved in a number of roles in the educational sector such as Schools Liaison Officer with a Social Services Department in the UK and with the Western Health Board in the development of community preschool services. He is currently a member of the Board of Management of Rosedale Special School and was nominated to the Executive Committee of NABMSE in 2012.

Edward (Ned) Byrne

Ned was Chief Executive of St. Vincent’s Psychiatric Hospital, Fairview, Dublin from 1980 until his retirement in 2012. Prior to that he worked in the health service in London and in Sierra Leone. He is Chairperson of the Board of Management of St Joseph’s Adolescent School, which is attached to the hospital. Ned is a member of NABMSE Central Executive since 2006 and was previously Treasurer of NABMSE. Ned is the former Honorary Secretary of HMI, the professional body for Healthcare Managers in Ireland and is a former member of the NCSE Consultative Forum.

Patricia Harrington 

Patricia is a member of the NABMSE Central Executive since January 2010. She is the Principal of the School of the Divine Child in Ballintemple, Cork since 2001. From 1996 to 2001, Patricia was seconded to Cork Institute of Technology as Arts Officer. She is a founder member of Cork Lifelong Learning Festival and a member of Cork City Learning Forum. She is also an Associate of the Special Education Support Service. Patricia is the IPPN representative on the Cork Music Partnership. Patricia was previously Vice Chairperson of NABMSE.

Sr. Marie Carroll

Marie has been a member of NABMSE Central Executive for many years and was Chairperson for 9 years. She is the Patron’s Nominee and Chairperson of St. Patrick’s School, Kilkenny. She is current director of the RSC Education Office and is also Chairperson of the Board of Management of a secondary and primary school. She has been class teacher in a mainstream school and a teacher and principal of schools for children with mild and moderate learning disabilities. Marie is a member of  the Board of the Association of Trustees of Catholic Schools.

Denise Cole

Denise is the Principal of Offaly School of Special Education since 2000 and was nominated to the NABMSE Executive in 2011. After qualifying with a B.A. in 1981 and a H. Dip in Ed in 1982, she subsequently worked in Paris as an interpreter for the Civil Aviation Authority.  Denise gained her Primary teaching qualification in the UK and taught English and French at Primary and Post Primary Level there for 10 years.

On return to Ireland Denise gained experience as a special teacher for travellers prior to moving into special education as an outreach teacher based in St. Mary’s Delvin.

Mary Conroy

Mary has been the Principal of St Mary’s Special School since 1999, having taught there since 1995. St Mary’s is a school for pupils in the mild range of intellectual disability. Previously taught in a variety of mainstream schools in Dublin and Cork City. Mary is a member of the Cork Special Schools Support Group. Mary was nominated to the Executive Committee in 2013.

Declan Fleming

Declan is a member of the NABMSE Central Executive Committee since 2011 and is the community nominee on the Board of St. Declan’s School, Ballsbridge. Declan was previously the parent nominee on that Board of Management.

Caroline Quinn

Caroline is Principal, Our Lady of Good Counsel GNS, Johnstown, Dun Laoghaire a  mainstream school with an Autism Unit. Caroline was nominated to the NABMSE Committee in  2015.

Andrea Hughes 

Andrea is a teacher in the Holy Family School, Cootehill, Cavan and was co-opted to the NABMSE Committee in 2015. Andrea was subsequently nominated to the Committee at the 2016 AGM. Andrea is an associate with Junior Cycle for Teachers team working on school training for the Junior Cycle Level Two.